This page describes our privacy practices with respect to Flickr.

Account Information

  • In your profile privacy settings, you can control who is able to see different parts of your profile, including email address, IM names, real name, and current city.
  • In your Settings, you may also hide photos or your profile from searches on as well as from searches on 3rd party sites that use the Yahoo API, including Yahoo Image Search.

Information Collection, Use & Sharing Practices

  • In your Privacy Settings, you can choose to make your photos default to public for anyone to access, restrict access to a limited number of other Flickr users, or keep those photos private so only you can access them. If you do not change your settings, your photos will be public by default. On each photo page, you will also find more granular controls to change each photo setting.
  • If you turn on the Auto-Uploadr feature on mobile, photos and videos from your mobile device camera roll will be automatically uploaded to flickr . These photos and videos will be stored as private on Flickr until you choose to share them. You can turn off auto-sync at any time in your app settings.
  • You may connect your account to Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, or other sites to link your photos directly to other social sharing sites and blogs.
    • You can set a preference that determines whether sharing features (such as Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and others) are shown for other people on your public content, which can be accessed through the "Allow Sharing" setting. The default setting is to allow sharing which will give Yahoo and other users the right to share your public content.
  • Your Guest Pass history allows you to manage Guest Passes you have created for sharing your photos with others.
  • On the desktop Flickr experience, you may give certain Yahoo and third party apps (including Aviary, Snapfish, and Blurb) different levels of permissions to interact with your account to take advantage of things like photo editing tools. If you want to stop using one of these apps and revoke your permission, click the "Remove Permission" link under “sharing and extending” on your account page and remove that permission.
  • Advertisements shown to you may be related to textual information, such as metadata and notes, associated with the photo you are seeing, or the search term you entered.

Location Information and Sharing

  • When you upload a photo with geographical data (i.e. from a mobile device) or manually geotag your photo, the photo's location can be shown on a map
  • EXIF Data
    • Exchangeable Image File Format (“EXIF”) data is a record of the settings and other relevant metadata inserted by a digital camera when you take a photo or video such as camera type, aperture, shutter speed, focal length, and location, among other information.
    • Unless you turn off EXIF data on your camera or device or remove it from the picture before uploading to Flickr, Flickr receives and stores EXIF data, By default, flickr will display a link showing EXIF data about photos or video you upload. The link,shows on all your individual photo pages, and displays the make & model of the camera you used to take the shot. You can elect to hide this link in "Settings" under the “Privacy & Permissions” tab.
    • Some cameras can store GPS (location) coordinates in a photo's EXIF header. If you like, you Flickr can import that data and use it to place your photos on your map automatically.
  • Geofences
    • A geofence is a hotspot on a map that has special default geo privacy settings. These are useful for locations such as "home" or "school" that you would like to make more private than your global default. Click here to create your geofences.
    • You can also set your geo preferences to decide who can see the location of your photos by default. Further, you can change the geo preferences setting on individual photos by clicking on the map to the right of each photo

Image recognition

  • We use image recognition algorithms to help you organize your photos and make it easier to search images. For example, the algorithms might identify and tag scenes, actions, objects, or public figures.
  • You may hide your images from appearing in search results.

Practices Regarding Your Ability to Update or Delete Information

  • You can delete individual photos that you have on Flickr by selecting the photos that you wish to delete, then clicking the delete button. Or you can delete groups of photos using batch operations.
  • Visit your Settings to edit your profile, default privacy settings for photos, and more.



For additional information on how Yahoo treats your personal information, please visit our Privacy Policy.

Yahoo Privacy

To find out how Yahoo treats your personal information, please visit our Privacy Policy. This page describes current Yahoo practices with respect to this product or topic. Information on this page may change as Yahoo adds or removes features.

Relevant Advertising

By bringing content and advertising to you that is relevant and tailored to your interests, Yahoo provides a more compelling online experience. Learn More about relevant advertising. Manage your interest-based categories, or opt-out of all categories, from the Yahoo! Ad Interest Manager.


Prefer not to receive advertising based on your interests? Learn about your ability to opt out of interest-matched advertising served by Yahoo.