Yahoo!7 Messenger for the Web
Yahoo! Messenger for the Web allows you to exchange instant messages with your online friends. You must be a registered Yahoo! user in order to use Yahoo! Messenger for the Web.
Information Collection and Use Practices
- You can establish a messenger list within Messenger and be added as a friend to other users' messenger lists.
- By default, your online status, display image and nickname will be visible to other Messenger users that you instant message with or that have you on their messenger list.
- You can choose to appear offline by signing in as “invisible.”
- By setting and using the Stealth Setting options available in the downloaded version of Yahoo! Messenger, you can selectively appear online or offline to specific friends or groups of friends on Yahoo! Messenger for the Web.
- You can choose to appear offline and block a user from sending you messages using the Block option.
- Yahoo! allows users to save messages, so that they may retain records of their instant messaging communications.
- By default, Yahoo! Messenger for the Web will archive your message history in your account on Yahoo! servers, just like email.
- To change your archiving preferences in Messenger, click the Options button from the History window.
- Please be aware that even if you choose not to save your message history, users with whom you correspond may opt to use the functionality available in their version of Messenger to save the communications and your conversations may be saved on Yahoo! servers.
- You can delete your archived messages by selecting the message, and clicking on the “Delete” button. However, this does not delete any of your conversations saved by other users.
- Messenger gives you the opportunity to report instant messages you receive as spam. If you choose to report spam, Yahoo! will be sent information about the conversation including the Yahoo! ID of the member being reported, text of the conversation, and your Yahoo! ID.
- When you invite someone to use Messenger using our form (as opposed to add someone as a friend to your friend list), you will need to provide that person's email address. Information collected on that form will only be used to send an email on your behalf and will not be used for any marketing purposes.
Information Sharing and Disclosure Practices
- By using Messenger, you may choose to make some of your personal information public or you may choose to share some of your personal information with others.
- If you post personal information online that is accessible to the public, you may receive unsolicited messages from other parties in return.
Practices Regarding Your Ability to Update or Delete Information
- You can edit Messenger settings related to your display image and Stealth Settings in the downloaded version of Yahoo! Messenger. Please see Messenger Help for more information about this.
- You can modify your list of Blocked users by accessing the Ignore List preference in the downloaded version of Yahoo! Messenger.
- When you use Yahoo! Messenger for the Web, you are subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service and to the Yahoo! Community Guidelines.
- Please see Yahoo! Messenger Help if you have questions about this service.